It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eye & Vision Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2010, 07:01 PM   #1
(male)

LeeInTN HB User
Monovision Contacts Options

Hi - I'm hoping a professional who understands the options can help me with my monovision situation and tell me which options make sense.

I've been using monovision B&L Torics for several years and am finally tired of the fact that there's so much compromise involved. My nearsightedness is about -6 and -4.5.

My right eye (-6) is dominant and has been my distance eye in monovision, with my left doing near distance with about +2 for the presbyopia. I have a small amount of cylinder taking care of the astigmatism. With the monovision lenses, my distance clarity is especially weakened at night, so much so that I resort to glasses for night driving.

On the other hand, the correction for near vision in the other eye doesn't really do the job for really close work. (With my basic bifocal glasses, I have great distance and close vision) One of the great things about the monovision contacts is the balance between the two eyes allows for good medium-distance vision for computer use.