It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eye & Vision Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2010, 10:32 AM   #1
(female)

jlsp HB Userjlsp HB User
Angry Problems after Cataract Surgery

Hi. I am not new to Healthboards but I am new to the eye and vision section. My question is this: I had cataract surgery in both eyes a year ago, (two months apart). The intraocular lens that was implanted is made by AMO, (Advanced Medical Optics). Has anyone else had these lenses implanted after cataract surgery and did they fit or are you having problems? Within seconds after my surgeries I saw the curved edge of the lens and my peripheral vision was impaired. This happend IMMEDIATELY after surgery. I mentioned it to my eye doctor and surgeon and he told me that it will take about 3 months before a "shrink-wrap" sort of thing takes place and they will fit. After 3 months it was still the same. They wanted me to wait another 3 months. So I waited again. But two months after that I became very ill and had to relocate to another state accross country, so I was not able to follow up after the full 6 months had passed. My circle of vision is now like a diamond shape. I cannot see if anyone comes up next to me on both my left and right side, but the left side is worse. I feel as if I'm looking through a small tube. I hate it and it has ruined my life. I constantly see this curved edge as if someone has insterted a curved wire into my line of vision.
Sorry this has turned into a book, but I know the lenses did not fit from the beginning. This has nothing to do with scar tissue or my brain adjusting to the new lenses. It is the lenses themselves. Also, since I've had these lenses I find my vision blures and I get a terrible full-headed feeling and then my vision gets shaky when trying to focus.
Thank you for any responses or advice you may offer. I appreciate all of you!