It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eye & Vision Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2011, 01:34 PM   #1
(female)

onlinelaws HB User
Flickering Vision in Peripherals - May not be your eyes...

So, this is my first time posting on here after searching on google the following phrase: "flickering vision peripheral vision". I want to let you know that I, too, was having a problem with flickering vision in my peripheral vision. I went to a nuero-opthomologist and my regular opthomologist--both who said it was not my eyes. I suffer from floaters and my eyes are very sensitive to light, so I thought that the problem was my eyes. When I left the nuero-optho, I wasn't told any information--only that it was not my eyes. So, when I went to see my optho, I refused to leave without SOMETHING. Basically, my optho told me that she thought it could have been a problem with my iron levels, anemia, or some blood-related problem.

I then went to my general doctor. I told him what the optho said. He tested my iron levels, sugar, blood levels, etc. Turns out, I have an iron deficiency and high blood sugar. Not sure if these two are related to one another. Anyway, before getting the blood tests I did not realize I was barely eating any iron. I was pretty much a vegetarian. I also ate a ton of carbs, which turn into sugar if not burned off by exercise. I was barely exercising. I'm not overweight by any means, so it was surprising to me that my sugar levels were high.

I received my blood results 3 days ago. Since then, I have changed my diet to include more iron, and I have cut back A LOT on my sugar in take. I've also been running/exercising for about 45 minutes every morning.