It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eye & Vision Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2012, 04:42 PM   #1
(male)

SteveUK HB User
Macular vision loss after silicone oil removal

Hi all,

I'm new to Healthboards and I'm hoping someone may be able to help with the problem I've recently experienced after 7 months of eye problems and surgery.

I suffered PVD in Jan 2012 in my left eye which caused retinal tears. I had 2 sessions of laser surgery to seal the tears but 1 week after the second session I had a massive vitreous haemorrhage and had to have a vitrectomy with SF6 gas bubble no posturing.

One month later the bubble had gone and all seemed well until my retina detached. I was told it was bad and very close (1.5mm) from the macular detaching too. I was told I was a priority and to come back first thing the following morning for surgery. I arrived at 8am but didn't get treated until 6.30pm - a whole day or stress and worry! This time I had a silicone oil fill and again all seemed well.

I had a follow-up 2 weeks after the operation and my IOP was measured at 38. I was taken off dexamethasone drops and given Acular and Iopodine. The pressure quickly reduced.

Approximately 1 month after the surgery I was fitted with a soft contact lens (+6.5) to bring focus back so I could use my spectacles (I was approx -1 with astigmatism in both eyes). My visual acuity (VA) in both eyes was good as measured by my optician and the hospital.

Approximately 4.5 months after the silicone oil fill I had surgery to remove the oil and also do a cataract operation as this had slowly got worse over the last 1.5 months.