It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eye & Vision Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2013, 04:44 PM   #1
(male)

Sree234 HB User
my vitrectomy feb-14

Hi

I had my vitrectomy on Feb 14 with gas bubble in my right eye & I am a computer programmer and with 2 kids and wife and I am the only earning member of the family & 41 years of age

The reason i went for Vitrectomy was due to an accident while playing racquet ball on Feb 7th

Today its 24th and the gas bubble looks like a dime now and I can see all the images with my right eye but not clearly little blur

If I look through the bubble then I can read small letter

Please advise me whether the whole was closed or not?

How long it will take to get proper vision?

Please help and I need to get back to work at the earliest

Also Let me know if you have any other questions and I can reply at the earliest

Thanks

Last edited by Sree234; 02-24-2013 at 04:45 PM.

Old 02-24-2013, 08:08 PM   #2
(male)

vitcat2 HB Uservitcat2 HB User
Re: Post-Vitrectomy Vision & Possibility of Repeat Retinal Detachment

Hi Sree234,

You need to ask your dr "why" the vitretomy was done in your case. Did the accident cause retinal detachment (RD)? How bad was it - just peripheral RD, or central (macular) RD too? Is it a "macular hole" or a "macular pucker" (epi-retinal membrane), or both? Was there hemorrhage inside the vitreous? Was your lens damaged too? I am no doctor, but each case has its own prognosis, and recovery time. In my case, lens removal (due to cataracts) and replacement with IOL was the least of my problems, and I started seeing clearly immediately after the operation. I write this because if your lens is damaged then I am hoping they can replace it by an IOL (intra-ocular lens).