It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of Addicts and Alcoholics Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2007, 09:23 PM   #1
(female)

kimmisofla HB User
Spouse is an addict...Fear that he will take his life!

Newbie here I have lost faith.....I am at the end of the road with my husband of 15 years. I have a long story, one that begins from child hood. Both of my parents were addicted to opiates. My father was a manic depressant. At his time the only medication that they gave for manics was Lithium, which he was allergic too. To make a long story short he substituted drug after drug until he finally took his own life when I was 10 years old. Then there was my mother, the innocent beautiful perfect women who was absued by my manic father. He basically turned her into an addict as well. She OD when I was 24. Now there is my husband of 15 years...we were married when I was 18 and he was 19. We had a great marriage, we were eachother's best friend. We did everything together from partying and playing. He always had some type of vice but I never paid them any mind. When we first got together he was a pothead, then he got hooked on opiates. He has been battling his addiction for over seven years. I never thought it was a problem....I just couldn't accept that he had a problem. About 4yrs ago, our world changed forever! He went on a drug rampage for four days, he did everything from cocaine to meth, I could not find him....i called everyone I knew looking for him...i finally got him on the phone and he was livid...i could not talk to him he was going to kill himself...i felt it in my bones.....when he came home he shot off his gun and kept threatening to kill himself. At that point he was eating Zanax by the mouthful and they still weren't doing anything for him. A few weeks later after this episode after he was curled up in a ball on the bed shaking b/c no