It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of Cancer Patients Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2008, 03:53 AM   #1
(female)

jespsl HB User
Question Is is Normal to have pain from Chemo - husband has rectal caner

This is my first time posting. My husband was diagnosed with rectal cancer March 2008, he turned 60 in June. It has spread to his lungs, liver and had started in the bones of the pelvic region. At the time the doctors said radiation first for 6 weeks with as he termed it "chemo lite". Then they put him on the industrial strength chemo, he gets 3-4 kinds at the doctors office and then they send him home with the pump. He just completed his 6th treatment, he has to have a total of 12. When he took time off between radiation & chemo his CEA jumped to 57, since doing chemo, it has come back down to about 23. He is in a lot of pain and for some reason they can't get that under control. He is on MS Contin every 8 hours and Dilaudid for break through pain every 3-4 hours.

The doctor said the pain isn't from the chemo as my husband believes it is, and the doctor has hinted that it could be in his mind. I beleive the pain is real, seeing him lay on the couch or the bed moaning and holding himself, gets to me.

Can he really be having all that pain or is the doctor correct? They want to wait on doing any kind of surgery being it is so low, the doctor can feel it when he does an exam. They say quality of life is important, but when you are in that much pain - what kind of life is that.

Is what my husband is going through normal so to speak?

Old 11-03-2008, 01:09 PM   #2
(male)

idunno HB User
Re: Is is Normal to have pain from Chemo - husband has rectal caner

Hi Jes,