It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of Cancer Patients Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2009, 02:09 PM   #1
(female)

dillygirl HB User
my husband has stage IV colon & rectum cancer

This Is my first time posting, as i usually just spend alot of time reading other peoples posts, since my husband got sick 12-31-08.
After alot of differnt diagnosises, and alot of testing, they after first going with "undetermined origin" are going with rectalcolon, 4th stage.
It has gone thru his lungs, liver, groin, testies, back, neck and a couple unknow spots in his brain.I am so confussed, alot of you talk about the sugeries you have had, yet the Dr,s say they cant operate on my husband.
He started on chemo yesterday, of Eloxatin, and an oral called Xeloda.His treatments will e every 21 days for IV infussion, and 14 day on oral.
They talk so optomistic at the clinic, like he is going to be ok for awhile, but this is uncurable.
I cant stop reading, to try and learn, how long he may be here.I am scared to know, yet i must know..Does anybody have any thoughts about his time left here, with the chemo treatments he is getting, I know they have success with these 2 combined recently.
Everybody i know that i tell where it has spread just say "i am so sorry".
I asked The Dr, he said he could not give us an answer, but they have some great new trial drugs right now.
What the heck ! i know they dont know anything for sure, but will we get 2 maybe 5 years here out of this treatmnet?
By the way he is only 49 yrs old, and very healthy until now.His only symptom, was a huge weight loss.How the heck did this spread so far without being noticed by his Dr, whom he saw once a month, for blood work for borderline diabetes.