It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of Cancer Patients Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2012, 02:28 AM   #1
(female)

Manxymare HB User
Mum diagnosed with nsclc and no one wil give me any answers

I'm new to this so please bear with me. Mum was diagnosed with stage iv nsclc last week. Tumour in left lung 4x6cm. Ct scan showed mets to vertebrate, bone scan was clear but radiographers are convinced it's in the vertebrate regardless of bone scan. She also has significant nodules on her right lung which are metastatic deposits. Mum had lost an enormous amount of weight before this diagnosis. She is very tired a lot of the time and has not got very much energy. She is still quite mobile though. I am worried about her mental state. She gets very confused at times yet at other times completely lucid. She also has short term memory loss. Brain scan showed 'changes' but doc said prob just old age. (mum is 70). But if bone scan clear yet still in vertebrate, could it be in brain even though this scan clear? She is being offered one dose of palliative radiotherapy. I need to know a few things which no one wil answer. What symptoms should I expect her to show and when, given her condition. What life expectancy? (I know everyone is different, but generally speaking someone must have some idea given her diagnosis and health condition in general, I'm not looking for an exact time, just a ball park figure). I need to prepare myself and my children who adore my mum so I really need to know these things. I really hope someone wil b able to help me.

Old 05-11-2012, 03:45 AM   #2
(female)

Manxymare HB User
Re: Mum diagnosed with nsclc and no one wil give me any answers