It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of the Mentally Ill Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2007, 05:09 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

marshmallow HB User
Lack of insight, denial or what?

I was just wondering about when a person reaches the point where they take meds and know they have to. I read that lack of insight is one of reasons that people with bp do not think anything is wrong with them. Most on this board take meds so I wonder what the difference is when one totally denies they have a problem for years and years but they are spiraling down into despair. Is there a point where you can clearly see the need for meds or do some never reach that point. I am not good with words so this might not make sense. I guess what I am trying to say is why do some reach a point where they can see and others never do and waste away their lives. Where is the fine line so to speak.

Old 02-14-2007, 06:20 AM   #2
(female)

wduke22 HB User
Re: Lack of insight, denial or what?

At first I thought the answer to this might be that this point occurs most often after some extreme manic or depressive phase of the illness, a suicide attempt, a hospitilization or something like that but from my own experience I think that might not be the case for the most of people who have long lasting commitment to take meds and accept the illness. As people post to your question hopefully you will get a good feel for the answer to your question as I am certainly no expert.