It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of the Mentally Ill Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2007, 11:32 PM   #1
(female)

pmw3805 HB User
Unhappy HELP, husband w/bipolar

Hello to everyone. I am new to this and would appreciate any oppinions.
I'll try to make this short. I have been married just over a year. In the beginning, he was a really great guy. Just before we got married, we were w/ his friend, who asked my soon to be husband if he had told me yet. He had told me he had ADHD, but come to find out, he actually has bipolar. But I didn't know much about it and thought it was pretty controlled with meds. He told me a little about it, but said it wasn't that bad.
I admit I should have done some research before getting married. Throughout the year he has been in the hospital 2 times, one ,to get off the self medicating addictions, and the second time, to "adjust his meds".
He has been married before and has 3 kids, who live with their mom. I have one kid who lives with me and my husband.
Some of these things I don't know if it is part of Bipolar or if he is just this way.... He tries to be controlling..That does not fly with me..He is rude and only thinks of himself.. he is selfish..
Here are a couple examples... My Daughter and I got back from the grocery store, he got up to see what I bought, he picked up this carton of juice my daughter had picked, she told him "don't drink it all" (nicely) (because if he likes something, he will eat or drink it all and no one else gets any). He got mad and said he was going to buy something for dinner because there was nothing for him to eat, when he got back he got a sharpie and wrote his name on everything he bought! ....He is 34 and that was childish, I told him so, but that turned into an argument. .......