It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of the Mentally Ill Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2007, 02:07 AM   #1
(female)

steflou HB User
New user; Need advice on how to cope with husband and bp

HI, I am new to this but this is the first forum I have seen that has many women members coping with a husband with bp. I hate to make this long but want to give a little bit of background.
I have been married 20 sometimes difficult years. My husband was recently diagnosed and put on zyprexa 2.5 mg today. He is currently depressed and is constantly talking about committing suicide. He has not told his dr about this as he knows he could be committed to a hospital and refuses to go to the point of threatened violence and so I also do not say anything.
My biggest problem is the guilt I am feeling and this sounds horrible when I say it that sometimes I think it would be for the best if he would go through with it. This is not the first time he has had suicidal thoughts. The last "episode" occurred 7 years ago and ended badly. (He spent a year in jail).
I also do not know how to explain my husbands behavior to my 3 sons, 18, 12, and 5 although the 18 year old is aware of exactly what is going on. My 12 year old is having extreme self esteem issues as one minute his dad says he is the only son he can count on and the next minute says he is on his list and worthless.
I have lots of questions so won't put them all down at once but am excited that there are other people out there who may be able to offer support. I live 30 miles from the nearest town and am very isolated and nobody in our families is aware of what is going on.

The following user gives a hug of support to steflou:
ILoveBasenjis (08-17-2011)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-10-2007, 02:48 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

Wend68 HB User
Re: New user; Need advice on how to cope with husband and bp