It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of the Mentally Ill Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2010, 12:13 PM   #1
(female)

elletothemoon HB User
Advice needed:breaking up with mentally/emotionally unstable boyfriend

Hi everyone, new to these boards. My boyfriend is a wonderful man, but has some issues with anger and depression. We've been together for eight months and have had great times, but he's gone through some serious lows.

I graduated college in the spring and we spent the summer together, but when I told him I had to move home (3 hours away) to make some money, he lost it and had one of his lowest lows yet -- a screaming and crying fit more suited for an unruly 4-year-old than a 30-year-old professional.

I'm worried he may be undiagnosed bipolar. I have family members suffering from this disorder and recognize many symptoms. He's been to a number of psychiatrists and doctors but nothing seems to work. I'm wondering how I can take myself out of the equation, since I seem to only exacerbate his moods, and let him get to a solid place. He has never been violent towards me, but I'm afraid he may be harmful to himself if pressed. Any advice greatly appreciated.

Last edited by elletothemoon; 09-07-2010 at 04:46 PM.

Old 09-08-2010, 07:16 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Larrylou'smom HB UserLarrylou'smom HB UserLarrylou'smom HB UserLarrylou'smom HB UserLarrylou'smom HB UserLarrylou'smom HB UserLarrylou'smom HB UserLarrylou'smom HB UserLarrylou'smom HB UserLarrylou'smom HB UserLarrylou'smom HB User
Re: Advice needed: having an mentally/emotionally unstable boyfriend