It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of the Mentally Ill Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2011, 02:08 PM   #1
(female)

Foxxii HB UserFoxxii HB UserFoxxii HB UserFoxxii HB UserFoxxii HB UserFoxxii HB UserFoxxii HB UserFoxxii HB User
Question Question about manic episodes and infidelity...sorry kinda long.

Hi guys! This is my first time on this board, but I need some guidance. Last year I found out that my husband, who is bipolar, was cheating on me. He was actually seeing a girl he knew NOTHING about. He didn't know her last name and she didn't even know his real name. Anyway, to make a long story short, this girl was on the work release program, and he NEVER bothered to ask her what she was in jail for! It was like he didn't care, he said it wasn't important! He carried on this little fling with her for about 6 weeks, until I found out and confronted him about it. He kept telling me he didn't know why he did it, that "that person wasn't him", and he didn't know who the hell he was or what he was doing at the time. I have spoken to my doctor about it, because I, myself have GAD and Panic Disorder, so you can imagine what all this did to me! We were going through a very hard time in our relationship due to him being laid off and collecting unemployment, which was not even half of what he would make a month. On top of that, we bought a house from a family friend that I trusted, and along with the deed transfer came a $22000.00 tax debt, that WE were now responsible for! There was too much financial strain on us and we started drifting apart. Arguing all the time, etc... I was ready to end everything myself at this point! Anyway as I was telling my doctor all of this he told me that it sounded to him like my husband had slipped into a manic episode from being depressed, and from all the stress. He said that alot of times people get what's call