It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of the Mentally Ill Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2013, 02:26 PM   #1
(female)

SadSpouse HB User
Spouse with mental illness, am I alone?

Hello All,
This is my first time posting, I started seeking out support not to long ago and found this site, I hope it helps to share. My partner (female) of 17 years suffers from depression, I also have my own demons to deal with. Anyway it is hard to share my feelings with friends, family etc...they are not going through what we are, they just do not understand plus I do not want everyone in our lives in our business.

It has been a long hard road these past 17 years and most times I feel completely alone. My partner fights her inner turmoil, keeps a lot of things from me so I do not worry...but I worry anyway. I sometimes feel though that she is soo wrapped up in what she is going through that I am left alone, not in the physical sense, but mentally, emotionally etc. My partner is not abusive, we rarely argue or fight, she is just inside herself, consumed by the past, not moving on. She has been in therapy for about 12 years now and on meds just as long, and though some things have gotten better, other things have not, and she has episodes where she reverts.