It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2004, 08:19 AM   #1
(female)

oholland HB User
Anyone else use crutches?

I am a newbie and was diagnosed with Fibro three weeks ago when I went to see a Rheumatologist for the first time. My GP thought I had Rheumatoid Arthritus (I tested positive, had a high SED levl and positive for Epstein/Barr) and I had been on crutches for the last two months since my shins and knees were so painful I couldn't walk otherwise. However, the pain in my feet, hands, ...really the pain all over my body caused them to send me to a Rheumy for futher evaluation. Anyway, I'm still waiting on the rest of the tests to get back but passed the pressure point test with flying colors (lucky me) and he said with no nodules on my elbows it was osteoarthritus and fibromyalgia. I had controlled the pain somewhat over the last year with tramadol and advil but have had two bleeds, the last requiring 5 units of blood so they have me on vicodine, tylonal arthritus, trazadome, zoloft and it's not really working. I have been in pain for over a year now and am getting steadily worse. At this point I see no really great future for me. I haven't been able to work since last October and if something doesn't improve soon, see a wheelchair as my next step to keeping mobile.

This is the pits. I'm beginning to feel like such a burden on my husband and he's beginning to feel bad about leaving me alone during the day as I have fallen twice lately and have such a hard time getting up. Plus the mental fog is horrible to cope with. I feel like my IQ has dropped 20 points in the last year.

People talk about flare ups. Have any of you had a year long flare up? Is anyone else on crutches or in a wheelchair? When does this get better?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-06-2004, 08:33 AM   #2
Inactive

PapaRoux HB User