It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2005, 12:27 AM   #1
(female)

misspeters HB User
Question getting help to live and work

Hello all,

I'm a preschool teacher that has been diagnosed with Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (Lupus & others) and Fibromyalgia. For the second year in a row I just barely finished the school year. I'm on Ultram and that helps somewhat with the pain, but the pain still affects all areas of my life!! I feel as if I can't function....I've messed up every area of my life. Luckily, I have until mid-August to "fix" my life and hopefully improve my health. I'm so worried that this is going to become a vicious cycle and every year it will get worse.
I am single and live alone. I need to keep working full-time, and I am trying to problem solve how I can continue to do this. One idea I had was getting help taking care of my apartment, groceries (and making meals), and other chores. My brother said this would be called a Personal Assistant Services (PAS) or another name. Has anyone else gone in this direction? Any other ideas?
Thanks,
misspeters

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-22-2005, 06:01 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

jdlfmc HB User
Re: getting help to live and work

MP, Hi, I'm sad to hear of all you are going through,it sounds familar though.
Mine started with a spine injury 6 yrs ago and has slid down hill since, I was dx'ed with lupus with underlying FM rrecently on top of all the spine disorders.
I haven't been able to work for 2 yrs now and am struggling to get my SSD I am fortunate though to be maried to a very kind hard working guy now, but I can only imagine how hard this must be for you trying to do it all on your own.
I'm still new to all this so I have little to offer in the way of advice but I know the others here are a wealth of info.