It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2005, 07:55 AM   #1
(female)

What next! HB User
mri results

Hi

Had my result from mri and it reads

MRI brain and cervical spine did not show any changes compatible with MS or other significant pathology. The studies were withiun normal limits with only small osteophytes in the cervical vertebrae bones but no significant disc lesion.

Does anyone know what this means, I am in lot of pain in my hips and have loss of muscle strength in my arms and legs are burning on excercise.

Thanks in advance

PS I was dx with TMJ 2 weeks ago also

Old 08-08-2005, 08:24 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

goldenwings HB User
Re: mri results

Hello there,

I am not a medical doctor but I have a little information for you:-

The medical term for bone spurs is osteophytes, and they represent an enlargement of the normal bony structure. Basically, osteophytes are a radiographic marker of spinal degeneration (aging) and are by and large a normal finding as we age. Over the age of 60, bone spurs are actually quite common.

The term "bone spurs" is really a bit of a misnomer, as the term "spurs" implies that the osteophytes are "poking" some part of the spinal anatomy and causing pain. However, this is not at all true. Bone spurs are in fact smooth structures that form over a prolonged period of time, often causing back pain.

From what I am reading into it, it means that it is normal wear and tear. From what you describe in muscle strength loss and burning of same, this definitely sounds fibro related. Maybe a bit of arthritis in your hips?