It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2006, 08:49 PM   #1
(male)

withheavyheart HB User
New to boards and looking for support and help with questions

Hello
This is my first time posting on this sight and I was looking for some support and/or some help with some questions. My girlfriend is 29 years old and has been suffering from fibromyalgia for some time now. She has been in so much pain that she has had to check herself into the “hospital” for the last two weeks to try to get her medications straightened out. The fibromyalgia has led to her falling into a deep depression that despite my best efforts has not been able to help break. She is currently on a large array of medications and is struggling with some of the side-effects. Her doctors won’t listen to her much less give her the time of day right now. She is suffering from hallucinations, dizziness, numbness in the side of her head when stress occurs, total mood swings (which is totally out of character for her and very frightening), and is starting to hear voices and music while meditating and/or praying. She is also having a hard time reading and writing in her journals as she is starting to get double vision at times.

I was wondering if anyone has seen this type of medication combination and/or has suffered some of these effects. We are trying to limit some of these one by one but the doctors are not cooperating with us and will not listen to our pleas. Now at the same time she has been without the fibro pain for about 6 days while in the hospital and is really just suffering from the depression and/or chemical side-effects

Here is what she is currently being prescribed while in the hospital…

Carisoprodol 350mg (soma) x2 per day
Clonazepam 2mg x1per day
Lamotrigine 37.5mg(lamictal) x1 perday
Lithium carb cr tab 450 mg x1per day