It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2006, 05:30 AM   #1
(female)

pink topaz HB User
Question Hi, I'm a newbie

I was finally given a name for my health problems yesturday. Fibromyalgia. I've never heard of this. I'm 34yrs old and had problems with my neck for the past 4yrs, I've had loads of test MIR scan bloods etc and they all came back clear. This past year i have been ill constantley and find doing simple tasks so exhausting and the pain is so bad i can't walk very far or carry my shopping etc. My doctor says this condition will burn itself out in a few yrs!! is this true, i've had it 4yrs now and have only got worse and worse. I used to do yoga for 1 1/2hrs every day now its totally out of the question, as my pain has spread down my back,arms and legs with constant pins and needles in my face ,head, arms, hands and legs and feet. Does it get better! I used to have good days but not anymore!!!!

Old 09-12-2006, 10:01 AM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

bluelakelady HB Userbluelakelady HB Userbluelakelady HB Userbluelakelady HB Userbluelakelady HB Userbluelakelady HB Userbluelakelady HB Userbluelakelady HB Userbluelakelady HB Userbluelakelady HB Userbluelakelady HB User
Re: Hi, I'm a newbie

welcome pink,
i am sorry to tell you it does not burn itself out in time. we just adjust and learn to live with it. i was diagnosed 11 years ago. i ended up in a wheelchair for almost a year and was bedridden. that was 11 years ago.
i learned to live with the pain. i also learned not exercising was making it worse not better. start slow but get back to your yoga. swimming is a good way to start. easy on the body as you only weigh 1/10th your body weight in water.