It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2001, 01:47 PM   #1

Donut HB User
Question Pain--help

I have fibromylagia as well as osteoarthritis and depression. I am on prozac for depression. I had total knee in Sept and have been awful since. It hurts everywhere, but no doctor wants to keep me on narcotics. I also have hypothyroid and take levoxyl. I have read a lot of the messages about pain, but does anyone have a suggestion for over the counter meds that can help. I have tried high doses of motrin with no effect and am now trying aspirin. I have not worked for most of last year, but need to start work next week and I do not know how I am going to do it with all this pain. I am a registered nurse so it is a stressful job. Any help would be appreciated

Old 01-11-2001, 02:19 PM   #2

Elaine from Kentucky HB User
Arrow

Hi, donut! Welcome to the board. I take
Tylenol for pain, and I never take more than three at a time. It's like taking a sugar pill, though, cause it's worth zilch in the help department. I also tried Tylenol Arthritis which seemed to help for a while, but it stopped working it's magic. Ibuprofen and naproxen just don't do the trick anymore for me.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-11-2001, 04:07 PM   #3
Inactive

korken HB User
Thumbs up

Donut, Hi again! Do you have a dx of FMS? If so go to a pain clinic. That was the only place that helped my husband by giving him something that worked. If you have any Dx that would state you need pain management. Over the counter stuff as you already know, being a nurse, is like taking an asprin for a broken leg. Boy, I hate it when you can't get the meds you need to function. Good luck and take care, Kim

Old 01-11-2001, 04:57 PM   #4

Charlie Weaver HB User