It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2008, 12:26 PM   #1
(female)

Campo Kim HB User
Newly diagnosed--anyone have orthostatic hypotension?

Hello,

I am new to the Fibromylagia board. I have been on the Lupus board in the past. I was diagnosed with Lupus in September 2006, but kept having pain in my elbows, deep in my upper back, neck, base of skull and occasionally in my knees. My rheumatologist recognized the symptoms of fibromyalgia, did the pressure point test, and diagnosed me last month.

Lately I have had some increasing problems with getting up from sitting or lying down. My rhematologist sent me to a cardiologist who did a tilt table test. I guess normally a person with orthostatic hypotension will respond to the test within 20 minutes; it only took 5 minutes with me. My blood pressure was 120/80 and dropped to 81/53. It was one of the scariest moments in my life. The test ended there and was deemed positive.

I have read (and my rheumatologist confirmed) that many people with fibromyalgia have orthostatic hypotension. Does anyone suffer from this? My cardiologist basically told me to eat tons of salt and increase my water intake. I get dehydrated so easily that they tested my adrenal function, but all was normal there.

I really hate having fibromyalgia (I know we all do). It seems like every time I turn around, there is another symptom that is related to it. There are so many symptoms that mimic other conditions that I drive myself crazy trying to self diagnose.

On a positive note, my doctor recommended Lyrica for my pain. I have seen an improvement with just 50 mg, but I know I will need to increase my dosage soon as I am beginning to feel some breakthrough pain. I am so sensitive to most medications, so it was nice to take a drug that didn't have side effects with me.