It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2009, 10:32 PM   #1
(female)

suni19 HB User
Doctors not helping with short term disability

Hello fellow sufferers! Sorry to see that you are here, as I know Fibro is no fun to live with on a daily basis.

My regular doc took me off work for 2 months due to chronic fatigue, and fibro. However, the problem I'm running into is no doctors wanting to fill our forms or talk with my short-term disability company. Has anyone else faced this problem?

There is simply no way I can work in this condition right now. He has referred me to a Rheumy doctor, he's ran tests so waiting for the results. The process of not having money is only making my stress greater.

I work in customer service, and cannot imagine treating my customers this way. I feel that part of treating me is working to get my insurance to pay so that I can concentrate on getting better.

Would love to hear from anyone else that has been through this or has any suggestions on how to find a doctor that will deal with it.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-08-2009, 05:49 PM   #2
(female)

puppybreath HB User
Re: Doctors not helping with short term disability

Hi Suni: I had the same problem. My dr. wouldn't sign my family leave statement so I looked for a new dr. I found one and she signed it, but as things got worse for me she started getting political and difficult. When I asked her to sign my short term dissability form she lectured me on how awful my life will be on dissability, as if I could do something about it. It's not always an easy road and every dr.'s different, you just have to keep looking and be honest with them. Don't let their pre concieved notions get you down.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-08-2009, 06:09 PM   #3
(female)

suni19 HB User