It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2010, 06:55 PM   #1
(male)

MeatLocker HB User
Fibro and being a competitive powerlifter/strongman

I know, it doesn't even sound feasible. After reading everyone else's posts all day it barely makes sense to me. I'll explain.

I'm actually a competitive powerlifter and strongman and my Doctor is certain that I suffer from Fibro. I'm 32 y/o 6'4" 320lbs? I practically live in a gym. I thought only 140lb soccer moms got this crap. About 5 years ago, 2005, I was first prescribed Lyrica at 400mgs a day. It was great, I was active again and I started training again for the first time since 2002(2 knee and ankle surgeries). Everything was great, until I started getting confused all the time and couldn't remember jack.

So, I go see a Psychiatrist and he says I have ADHD and puts me on Adderall for the ADHD and Xanax for the nervousness it caused me. I ran this course for 2 years before I decided to detox myself from that crap because my dosages had gotten way out of hand. It took 4 months to detox MYSELF in my apartment, but I did it with the help of my wonderful and supportive wife.

I couldn't understand the pain that I was having after these 4 months, I had stopped training for 10 months as well. I finally went to my doc 1 year ago and he said I had Fibro and wrote me a script for Lyrica again. Go figure. Within 3 days my pain had been cut by 60%, first thing I did? I started training again.