It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2012, 11:25 AM   #1
(female)

tanasmom HB Usertanasmom HB Usertanasmom HB User
Unhappy Fibro Forever???

Hi !!! I am new to this message board and newly diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. I am very happy to finally know what is going on with me so I can try to get some relief...But...I am having the most trouble dealing with what my doctor told me: that this is a lifelong condition and the chances of complete pain relief is slim. I felt like someone had punched me in the stomach...took the wind right out of me. He gave me Neuontin, Flexeril and Naprosyn and told me to do light exercise (he recommended Tai Chi so I ordered a DVD) I go back in 3 weeks.
I just can't get over the defeated feeling I have and I just feel depressed.
Any Advice??? Is he right? Is this forever?

Thank you !!!

The following 2 users give hugs of support to: tanasmom
catkaru (08-14-2012), lehcar (08-13-2012)
Old 08-13-2012, 11:44 AM   #2
(female)

mareintx HB User
Re: Fibro Forever???

I'm newly diagnosed too and from my research and everything else, sadly, yes it is true.

Although I've read where people went into a sort of 'remission' and had little/no pain for months/years and then later had it return.

I've also read where some have very minor pain and where some have completely disabling pain. So it seems to really vary; although from what I've learned it seems to wax and wane from day to day and even hour to hour.

I'm just working on trying to learn everything I can and live day to day the best I can...

The Following User Says Thank You to mareintx For This Useful Post:
tanasmom (08-13-2012)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-13-2012, 12:04 PM   #3
(female)

mareintx HB User

double posted somehow, sorry

Last edited by mareintx; 08-13-2012 at 12:07 PM. Reason: double post

Old 08-13-2012, 02:04 PM   #4