It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-19-2012, 06:16 AM   #1
(female)

desertlady42 HB User
New to Fibro-have medication question

Hello Everyone,
I am a 42 year old woman and I'm new to the Fibromyalgia board. I have going back and forth to Doctors for several years now trying to figure out what is wrong with me. Have had joint pain, muscle pain, extreme fatigue and flu like feelings for years. I actually think I have been having these problems to some degree since my twenties. I have been diagnosed with dry eye and have had punctal plugs put in, still working on the eye inflammation after steroid drops did not show improvement. I also have very dry mouth and severe dry nose. The thought has been that I probably have Sjogren's but the Sjogren's antibodies come back negative and bloodwork is all normal. I don't feel normal!

Until I have a lip biopsy done and have that show positive then the Sjogren's will not be diagnosed. The Rheumatologist that I have been seeing diagnosed me with Fibro, I have some of the pressure points but not all (the ones I do have are super sore!) and she believes the flu like feelings and muscle pain is from the fibromyalgia. She wants to start me on one of the Fibro meds but wants me to think about it and maybe talk to my primary because the meds can cause dry eyes and mouth. She said I need to weigh the options because I already have very bad dryness.

Can anyone tell me if they have noticed dryness while taking medication for Fibro? I beleive she said it would either be Lyrica or Cymblata. If anyone already had dry eyes and mouth before, did it get worse while taking either of these meds? I have a coworker who is on Lyrica and she said it helped her tremendously. I just want to try something that may help.