It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Fibromyalgia Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2012, 08:10 PM   #1
(female)

FiKA88 HB User
New to the Board, Questions about Fibro and the Workplace

Hi everyone, I'm new to HealthBoards and have a few questions for everyone here.

I'm a 24 year old female working as a sales consultant for a mobile phone company. I love my job, but it's very stressful work. I was diagnosed with fibro early this fall after being bounced from doctor to doctor because of my issues of chronic UTIs, extreme pain, and inability to sleep. By the time I found a doctor who was willing to help treat me, I was 'sleeping' at most 2 hours a night and I put quotes around that because it was more passing out from sheer exhaustion than anything. I have really bad issues with fibro fog, but they are getting better now that I'm on medication to help me sleep.

While I love my job, they have not been very supportive in my diagnosis. I'm constantly being scheduled when I ask for time off for doctor's appointments, I work in a kiosk with no chairs and taking too many breaks is frowned upon. My manager knows about my illness, but just isn't sympathetic because he manages to power through even with his own medical issues (he has hypothyroidism). Recently, we've been short staffed and I've been asked to do a lot of overtime because I have been the acting assistant store manager. My pain has been registering at the lowest a 7, I can feel the knots all over my body, and I feel exhausted all the time. Even with my medication, I'm losing sleep every night. I kind of feel like all the progress I've made in the last few months is going on the wayside.