It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2004, 08:09 AM   #1

billwilliams70 HB User
Hairline Fracture of the right foot.

Hey all, newbie here.

My son recently sustained a hairline fracture in his foot (it's actually the far right bone just at the pinky toe) at a football practice. He was given a stiff brace to wear and was told to get another Xray in ten days. He's really anxious about wanting to play football this year as I missed his first season last year due to my deployment to Iraq. Is there any likelihood that he'll be cleared to play again after that ten days?

In Christ,
Bill

Old 08-27-2004, 10:11 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

kehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB User
Re: Hairline Fracture of the right foot.

I don't think so, but that's really something to discuss with your doctor. Fractures take time to heal, and ideally he would allow it to heal fully before returning to contact sports. But we do hear about athletes playing with those sorts of injuries quite frequently. I am guessing your son is in high school? If so, you might have to remind him that there is life after high school and it will be more important for him in the long run to have a functional foot than to have played football in high school. It's a frustrating situation, but he's going to have to figure out what is more important to him. He might be able to start playing at some point this season, if not the full season. Good luck.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-27-2004, 11:00 AM   #3

billwilliams70 HB User

Thanks for the input. I greatly appreciate it.

Old 08-30-2004, 01:03 PM   #4

ekgoal HB User

I've always been amused by the "Hairline" bit of a fracture. Fractures are like being pregnant - either you are or aren't. A bone is either fractured or it isn't.