It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2004, 04:59 PM   #1

Cindyn2003 HB User
Had surgery--NEED HELP!!!!

Hi again. I had my tendons and ligament surgery almost a month ago. I had my cast taken off and my stitches removed on Thursday. I'm back in that lovely "walking boot" and my doctor says that I can go back to work on the 3rd of January. I'm a teacher and I have winter break right now.
I'm wondering how quickly you all that have had surgery were able to go back to work?? I know everyone is different but at this point I can only stand/walk for about 30 minutes and I'm an elementary school special ed teacher and I'm on my feet atleast 7 hours a day and I'm getting nervous about going back--any words of advice?? My doctor seems to think I will be able to just sit down when I'm feeling pain but as I said, I'm a special ed teacher--I have children in wheelchairs, children in leg braces, etc--I need to assist them all and I'm wondering how I'm going to do that when I can barely stand myself????
Also, I hope you don't mind, but I have a few other questions:

1. How soon did you regain feeling in your foot?? My entire foot is still numb.
2. When I walk on my "bad" foot I feel like I'm walking on gravel/rocks--it really hurts--any idea what that is and when it will go away??
3. Any magical tricks to get rid of the horrible scars??

Thanks for any and all help you can give.

Cindy

Old 12-26-2004, 05:33 PM   #2

gator4113 HB User
Re: Had surgery--NEED HELP!!!!

Cindy,