It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2005, 09:05 AM   #1

joekrackin HB User
crushed ankle, 3 screws...how much will i collect?

i was hurt at work, a faulty machine crushed my ankle and now i have 3 screws in it....anybody know in a guestimate how much ill recieve when the case is done? how much is a foot worth nowadays?

Old 01-29-2005, 09:24 AM   #2
(male)

Bigdog Two HB User
Re: crushed ankle, 3 screws...how much will i collect?

As you may be aware, workmen's comp likely covers your case. There likely will be a chart that is used in your state that tells you how much you get for damaged or injured body parts depending on the % of loss of use.

In my limited experience (I am a lawyer but I do tax and financial stuff but had a few clients with workmen's comp claims that I referred to another law firm) you will get more than nothing but not as much as would seem fair to compensate you for your pain and suffering and long term problems, if any.

You will have to decide whether to get a lawyer to help you with your claims. Workmen's comp was designed to allow injured workers get compensated for injuries without the need for lawyers or litigation. Your employer or the workmen's comp insurance carrier who contacts you will tell you that. And, in many respects they are right. Use of a lawyer may not get you any more money. If you use a lawyer you will likely have to give him/her 1/3 of your recovery amount as a fee. So, use of a lawyer could turn out badly if you just get the statutory amount and then have to pay a fee.

On the other hand, I do know of situations where use of a lawyer has led to largery recoveries in the Workmen's Comp area.