It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2007, 01:35 PM   #1
(female)

lpdarkchild HB User
Flat Feet

I have badly over-pronated feet. I've been wearing orthotics for about 10 years. They haven't seemed to help. I ultimately need surgery. My doctor mentioned some kind of surgery where they insert something into the side of
your ankle to help stabilize it. I would like to look into this more. Does anyone know of the surgery I'm talking about? Thanks!

Old 01-27-2007, 04:13 PM   #2
(female)

pugluver31902 HB User
Re: Flat Feet

It sounds like he is talking about the MBA implant. From what I have seen, I havent seen anyone where the implant didnt slip out a matter of months after the surgery. I am almost four months out of my second (other foot was last year) flat foot reconstructive surgery. It was an incredibly long and painful process, but I am extrememly happy with the results.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-28-2007, 02:47 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

flintrock HB Userflintrock HB Userflintrock HB Userflintrock HB Userflintrock HB Userflintrock HB Userflintrock HB User

My son (21 now) had the surgery when he was 14...it helped a lot. The only thing is now, in the winter, his ankles hurt. I have had him back to the foot doc and they xrayed to make sure all was well and it was. but if he's on his feet all day at work and it's cold weather, his ankles really hurt. He wishes he hadn't had the surgery....they can go back in and take out the medal, but he doesn't want to do that. After surgery, he had to wear casts on both feet, from the knee on down, and had therapy to learn to walk again. it was a major ordeal........

Old 01-28-2007, 07:43 PM   #4
(female)

pugluver31902 HB User