It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2008, 12:30 PM   #1
(female)

q95253 HB User
Lapidus - Need some advice please!

Hello all,

I have to have my bunion corrected with the Lapidus procedure and need some input from those who have gone through it. I am a high school teacher and I can't take the 8 weeks off work that my doctor recommends. (It's a long story, but doing it in the summer is not an option either.) I am wondering how long would I need to be out of the classroom? I have a good group of students and should be able to get away with crutching to class and then sitting and keeping my foot up once I am there. How long should I realistically plan to take off before I can get back to the kids?

Thanks!

Old 01-19-2008, 03:49 PM   #2
(female)

relteach HB User
Re: Lapidus - Need some advice please!

I, too, am a high school teacher and understand your concerns. I can't speak for the surgery, but last March I broke my foot and the doc suggested being out for 10-12 weeks to keep my foot elevated and avoid stress to improve the healing. I knew I could not afford that, nor could my students. I chose to rent a wheelchair that had an elevated foot rest and had the adminstration switch me to a first floor class room. I left my wheelchair in the classroom each night and crutched my way in and out of the building and at home. I spent most of my time at home with my foot elevated high. At school, my leg was always elevated and to use the restroom, I wheeled in with my crutches to help move myself where I needed to be.
My insurance covered the wheelchair rental because I got my doc to approve of the plan. I spent all of March through the end of the school year (early June) in the wheelchair. Once I was off for the summer, the chair went back.