It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2009, 06:05 PM   #1
(female)

Piffy05 HB User
how long does it take to recover from flat foot surgery

I'm a 23 year old female and my doctor has told me that he recommends I have surgery to correct my rapidly progressing collapsing arch on my right foot. He wants to do a mix of the Calcaneal Osteotomy (sp?), a bit of the Evans procedure, and tendon lengthening. I would really like to know how painful these procedures are and what the recovery time is like. I have been wearing thick orthotics for about 2 years and they have only worked to a degree. Am I naive to think I could be dancing at my wedding 10 months after this procedure is done- and wearing nice shoes to boot? My physical therapist has told me to take the quoted recovery time and double it. Thoughts? I am really really scared, have no idea what to expect, and feel like I'm being thrown into the lions den.

Old 04-17-2009, 06:40 PM   #2
(female)

ETANA HB User
Re: how long does it take to recover from flat foot surgery

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piffy05 View Post