It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2009, 10:32 AM   #1
(female)

ladybretagne HB User
OCL of the Talus Post-Op Info?

Hi there!

My name's Brittany and I'm having debridement/drilling done in about two weeks to repair an OCL of the talus in my right ankle. I've been told six weeks NWB, then four weeks limited WB, and that I should be able to go back to my normal routine in three months. The thing that I am most worried about is that I work in retail full time and am on my feet eight hours a day, five days a week. My boss has been absolutely wonderful about my needing to go out (and the times when the pain was too much for me to come in and be on my feet all day leading up to the surgery) but I really wonder at what point can I even begin to consider going back to work part time or in some sort of modified capacity where I wouldn't have to be on my feet long term. If anyone has any insight that would be fantastic. Obviously my surgeon will give me all kinds of info and has been fantastic so far, but I'm a worrier by nature and a bit of a control freak.

The other question I have is what kind of shoes people have worn with their boots while on crutches or on partial WB? I'm having a hard time finding shoes that are tall enough and comfortable enough to work with the brace and I really can't afford to buy multiple pairs of shoes right before going out on disability for a couple of months! Any ideas would be fantastic.

Last edited by ladybretagne; 07-29-2009 at 10:33 AM. Reason: misspelled word

Old 07-29-2009, 11:27 AM   #2
(female)

dizzizzi99 HB Userdizzizzi99 HB Userdizzizzi99 HB Userdizzizzi99 HB Userdizzizzi99 HB User
Re: OCL of the Talus Post-Op Info?

Hi Brittnay,