It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2009, 02:52 AM   #1
(female)

Carrue HB User
Advice for Bunion Surgery??

Hello all,

I am new to this and have never posted to any message board in general....
I am a 27 year old female who will be having bunion surgery next month in September (to be specific - metatarsal osteotomy in hallux valgus on left foot). I am planning on having my right foot done early next year. I have been needing this to be done for a while and my husband and I are in the fortunate position to be able for me to take the time to go through with the procedure. I have the fortune of bunions being inherited from my mother's side of the family (gotta love those genes!). My mom had a bunionectomy years ago and now her feet are the same as they once were.

Ok. To make the long story short, I was hoping that any of you that have gone through the surgical treatment could give me some advice in regards to preparation before I go through surgery. Anything would be much appreciated. I really trust and have attained much information from my podiatrist, but she, unlike you guys, has not gone through this. So if you guys could tell me for example any tips on how to be prepared to take a shower, go to the bathroom, wheelchair v crutches, pain medication, how to not drive my husband crazy, how to not go crazy bored laying in bed, etc. etc. etc., it would be much appreciated!! Hopefully I will be able to contribute by sharing my experiences with those who will be in my position in the future!!!

Take care,
carrie

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-08-2009, 08:49 AM   #2
(female)

monster bunion HB User
Re: Advice for Bunion Surgery??

Hi Carrie,