It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2009, 08:08 AM   #1
(female)

meslinger HB User
Ankle Surgery...UGH

I am a 42 year old VERY active female. I am a personal trainer, hiker, biker, USTA tennis player. The doctors want to do the Bromstrom repair on my ankle, I am hesitant as I am worried it will never be the same. I am able to use my ankle, but it gets VERY sore for days after I play tennis. People tell me not to repair it until the ligament ruptures...I am unable to run now, I can work out as long as there isn't any running or sprinting. I have gone through therapy and it helped. It still gets really sore for days after. Advice? Will I be able to do the things I was able to do like run and play tennis again??

Old 08-25-2009, 09:58 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

K_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB User
Re: Ankle Surgery...UGH

Hey there,

I had a Brostrom along with a bunch of other things done in 2006. I went on to get my black belt in Tae Kwon Do, compete in the world championships for the SKIL/NBL circuit, and run again and comlete a few more endurance days for karate. So my advice is to do the surgery. THere was no way I could have done any of that with the pain and instability I was having before surgery.
A Brostrom is a common procedure with good results and you should have no problem getting back to your activities.
Good luck.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-25-2009, 01:07 PM   #3
(female)

meslinger HB User

Thanks Kris! I appreciate your response...most people aren't active so I cannot trust the reliability. If you went on to ski...that's all I needed to know!

Old 08-25-2009, 05:01 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)