It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2009, 08:36 PM   #1
(female)

MaeRunner HB User
PTTD Surgery, one right after annother?

Hey I have a timeline question... I would need both ankles done, and the first would be probably in Nov/Dec... how soon could the second ankle be done? I would be leaving for my freshmen year of College in Aug, so this all seems so overwhelming and limiting.

Anyone have experience with PTTD surgery and living away from home/the surgeon/ regular Dr and PT??

Old 09-06-2009, 04:57 AM   #2
(female)

rose815 HB User
Re: PTTD Surgery, one right after annother?

Hi, I was off work from April until September. I just went back to work last week, as I'm a teacher. I was on my feet doing the most walking I've done for the past 6 months. I had a lot of pain but I made it through. Your young though and will probably do okay.. I might invest in a knee walker to get across campus though.. crutches are a pain. I also have had PT for the past 3 months so it just depends on your healing rate. Are you having surgery at college or when your home? I was down for the 1st 2 weeks and only got out of bed to go to the bathroom and get something to eat. My husband only took off 3 days so I was on my own after that. Good luck and let us know what you decide.
Rose

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-06-2009, 06:53 AM   #3
(female)

SoCalGal09 HB User

MaeRunner,
WorldWalker just had her second foot done and she's in a very similar situation to you - she's young and in college. It's been a little tough on her (you should pm her), but I think her youth has helped. I'm six months out and there is NO WAY I could do my other foot right now. I'm old and chubby, so that doesn't help me at all.