It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2010, 01:52 PM   #1
(female)

Brit215 HB User
Dreading the fate of my ocd ankle: oats

Hi everyone, I'm new to the health boards, hoping that I can get some good feedback from those of you going through similar situations.

I was diagnosed with stage 4 ocd in my right ankle a little more than two years ago when I was 15. I had no previous injuries what so ever, but I am a dancer and dance 5 days a week. I had a drilling soon after I found out, hoping to fix the problem right away. Post-op, my results were good on paper, but I only felt so-so. Also, my ankle started to crunch, crack, and lock up.

I've simply dealt with the limitation that I've had in my right ankle, up until this year. My ankle went from an okay state to a pretty bad state, and it continues to get worse. It locks up all the time and I have pretty bad joint pain even after a short amount of walking. In addition, I've had back pain that started about 5 months post-op and continues today. I've been in p.t. for almost a year now off and on, for my back. We've somewhat concluded that much of my back pain is due to a compensation for my ankles. Back to the ankles though, as I said, I'm a dancer and next year I had planned on pursuing it as a career, but my prospects do not look good. I went back to me o.s., got another MRI and he said that I'm back at square one again. My only smart alternative is the oats, which will end my dance career.