It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2010, 04:04 PM   #1
(female)

carcrash1992 HB User
Flat Foot Surgery

Hi, My name is Sarah and i just consulted with a surgeon today concerning my flat feet. He suggested surgery and I agreed with him because i have exhausted most or all of the other options of treatment. I am in my marching band, play sports, i lifeguard, and lastly i am an EMT so i am constantly on the go, so the surgery is going to have to wait until Thanksgiving of 2010, is that a good idea? During marching band, i lose points during competing cause the pain is so bad that i have to take the weight off of my feet, one at a time and sometimes get noticed. The Dr. said that there is a tendon on the plantar side of my foot that is too stretched out to make an arch, so he said he is going to tighten that but cutting some away and reconnecting the ends, has anyone ever had that before? if so how was the pain and how long did it take to recover? Also I am getting an implant on the dorsal side of my foot to help the arch. Lastly he wants to lengthen my heel cords because they are pulling my heel up and giving more reason for a flat foot. Has anyone ever gone through this? If so what was it like because i want to get a feel for what will be going on? and what are the surgeries particularly called? How long is recovery? How much pain was involved? just any details. Thanks!

The Following User Says Thank You to carcrash1992 For This Useful Post:
40Hendrix (05-10-2012)
Old 01-20-2010, 04:33 PM   #2
(female)

thefrosh3 HB User
Re: Flat Foot Surgery

hi carcrash1992,