It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2010, 01:43 PM   #1
(female)

sarahluke HB Usersarahluke HB User
Extreme fatigue post surgery - help?

Hello, I'm a newbie to this site. 2 weeks ago I had a flat foot reconstruction surgery on my left foot. Everyhting is great with my foot and I am off meds. I was on percocet and phenegren for 10 days round the clock. Now I so exhausted that I can barely knee scooter across my house. I have been checked for deep vein thrombosis and lung embolism because I am so washed out. Could this be a reaction to the general anesthesia or the meds? I am worried because last week I was better and I seem to be going downhill as far as energy. My appetite is as weak as I am although I am forcing myself to eat (very healthy) and drink lots of water. Please, if anyone has had this reaction please post. I met a woman at my last post-op appt in the waiting room who had foot surgery 2 hours before me and she was full of energy and had no problems there. I'm exhausted and a slow typer. Thanks.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-19-2010, 01:45 PM   #2
(female)

Re: Extreme fatigue post surgery - help?

I forgot to add that I am 42 and slim.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-19-2010, 03:05 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

wakkochic17 HB User

I had sedation and not general anesthesia. For me it gets me really winded, like I'm out of breath just doing the smallest of things. A friend of mine gets really exhausted for a few weeks after having general anesthesia.

Old 02-19-2010, 03:12 PM   #4
(female)

what happened with your friend? How long did it take her to recover from the fatigue?

Old 02-19-2010, 03:17 PM   #5
Senior Veteran
(female)

Northwind HB UserNorthwind HB UserNorthwind HB UserNorthwind HB UserNorthwind HB UserNorthwind HB UserNorthwind HB UserNorthwind HB User