It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2009, 07:20 AM   #1
(female)

Ven406 HB User
fell down nine stairs

Hi Kris,

I'm new to this web site. I recently fell and broke my leg and ankle. In Jan I fell down nine stairs and broke my leg and ankle. I had two plates and 17 screws put in my leg and ankle. I started PT at the end of FEB with no WB. In mid Mar I started full WB on my leg and ankle. At the end of Mar I stop using my cruthes and CAM boot. I'm walking with a limp. I'm still in PT and hope soon to get rid of the limp.

I lost 10 pounds due to the stress of this ordeal. I find myself really depressed and I don't know how to get over this or find some way to cope with my accident.

Can you please share any information on how to cope or deal with this. You seem to be so up beat about your accident.

Thanks, In distress.

Last edited by Administrator; 06-12-2010 at 12:33 AM.

Old 04-08-2009, 08:38 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

K_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB UserK_Lana HB User
Re: OATS/Talus OCD recovery-thread 4

Hi Ven,

Well, my falling down the stairs was a minor thing after my surgery. Yours sounds pretty major. But, I did have major surgery. What I can say is you are still so early after surgery. Mine was in Sept. and I'm still recovering. The first 4-5 mos are really rough. Then things get better. I'm 6.5 mos out and just now seeing that there may be a light at the end of the tunnel.

I try to stay upbeat, and I'm not always. I have a goal in mind for recovery (getting my 2nd degree black belt in November.) and that keeps me focused. Also, I feel vent a lot here. But remember, it takes time and recovery is possible. PT helps a lot.