It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2010, 02:24 PM   #1
(male)

portapaolo HB User
Unhappy Foot Drop

I developed a drop foot on my left leg without clear reason. I was simply sitting down and when I stood up I realized that my foot was dropping. I was able to work almost normally by purchasing shape ups shoes and wrapping my ankle. I work in a restaurant, and I am very scared that I will not be able to work any longer. I an move my tows but I have no dorsi flex movement. I have a feeling of stretching that goes from the pironeal nerve down to my ankle. I have an appointment with neurologist tomorrow. Had anyone had the same experience. Did you recover? Do you have any siggestion in regards to exercises?
Please, help!

Thank you

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-25-2010, 07:39 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

emmie54 HB Useremmie54 HB User
Re: Foot Drop

I developed foot drop from entrapment of the deep peroneal nerve. I had the nerve conduction study/EMG which showed basically no conduction through this nerve from the ankle to the big toe. An MRI showed some atrophy of the EDB muscle because of it. I went to physical therapy with a PT who specializes in feet and my foot drop was resolved through PT. I still have some nerve issues with the deep peroneal nerve but it's very manageable with Cymbalta. Nerves do heal themselves. That nerve runs behind the knee and issues with it can be a result of a problem in the knee as well as the ankle.

Hopefully the nerve conduction study will tell the neurologist where your problem originates. Mine was fine from the knee to the ankle joint. Good luck to you. The test was a little freaky but not painful.

emmie

Last edited by emmie54; 08-25-2010 at 07:40 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-25-2010, 08:00 PM   #3
(female)

Lulu6kidz HB User