It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2010, 01:42 PM   #1
(female)

Sportzgirl HB User
Brostrom Procedure (first ankle surgery) pain, rehab, recovery

Hello,

I am scheduled to have a Brostrom Procedure on January 19th on my right ankle. I have never had ankle surgery before and because I am a college student, I am looking for tips, explanations, and any other helpful information any one can offer. I was told it will not be done arthroscopic, therefore it will just be an incision made on my ankle. He said research has shown this gives better results. He then told me I would be NWB and on crutches for 6 weeks. I am wondering about pain after surgery,how mobile people were ( I have about a week off school and that's it) type of cast people were in (showering tips) and any other useful information. I also wanted to know when people usually begin rehab and how this process has worked out for people. Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

Old 11-17-2010, 07:46 PM   #2
(female)

cadynz HB User
Re: Brostrom Procedure (first ankle surgery) pain, rehab, recovery

hi Sportzgirl,
i am a physiotherapist, and i underwent a Brostrom procedure just over 2 weeks ago. i did a lot of research prior to deciding to have the surgery, including my choice of surgeon.
my history was a series of ankle sprains, and ongoing pain and instability.
during the surgery my surgeon did two procedures - a modified Brostrom's repair of my anterior talofibular ligament using an anchor, and a straightforward repair of my calcaneofibular ligament. he also cleared out some scar tissue and decompressed one of my tendons running through the back of the ankle joint. he then placed me in a backslab - like a cast but with a gap allowing for swelling.