It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2011, 07:19 AM   #1
Inactive
(female)

wilkinak HB Userwilkinak HB Userwilkinak HB Userwilkinak HB Userwilkinak HB User
Going from PT back to just life

I've been dealing with ankle sprains, impingement, chips, and tendonitis all year. I've been doing PT for the last 4 months, and am back to point where I can most things, but still have "oh $hit" moments, pain and some swelling. My PT has done just about all he can do. OS said yesterday to give it "a couple more months" before he'd consider the need to do anything else.

So how has anyone else gone from "being broken" back to "normal"? Did you just say the heck with it (within reason), and just do whatever it is you used to do? Or go a more baby steps route?

PT has told me, more than once, that I'm not going screw it up again, and I want to believe him, but....I've been dealing with this for a year.

A few years ago, I had a really nasty bout of rotator cuff tendonitis & an old spine injury flare up. After I finished PT, I pretty much ended up holed up on the couch for about 6 months before I really felt comfortable just moving. At the time, I was really enjoying NOT hurting and didn't want to do anything that MIGHT make me hurt.

I feel myself falling into that same trap again. I want to do stuff, but am completely paranoid about getting hurt again. It's not completely illogical, I've had this seem healed before, only to blow up again. I never had any one big trauma, like a fall or car wreck, just a bunch of small seemingly inconsequential ones (like walking ) that added up to one big mess that the 3rd doc finally figured out.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-24-2011, 12:03 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)