It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2012, 06:17 PM   #1
(female)

Slillymom HB User
Talking One Week Post-op Brostrom

I'm 8 days post-op from my brostrom. I'm happy with the surgery so far. I haven't experienced much pain, so far. My pain was the worst on day 2 post-op. I sleep through the night and really don't need pain meds much at all. I've continued taking ibuprofen some, to help with inflammation, mostly. I was out and up for about 3 hours today. I didn't have much increase in my swelling. My ankle seemed a little more achy. My toes got really cold though. All in all the trip went well, but it did really tire me out. I came home and collapsed on the couch. I'm hoping this is a good sign I will be able to return to work in a week. I'm a nurse in a clinic and will use my knee walker to get around. I'm hoping if I can elevate between patients I can make this work. I'm crossing my fingers. I'm sure my discomfort and swelling will be increased once I'm weight bearing. I'm non-weight bearing in a cast for 3 more weeks and then will have a weight bearing walking cast for 3 additional weeks. I believe after that time I'll start PT. I'm hoping this goes well because I need to repeat the procedure on my right foot.

Old 05-25-2012, 10:55 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Hollywood48 HB UserHollywood48 HB UserHollywood48 HB UserHollywood48 HB UserHollywood48 HB UserHollywood48 HB UserHollywood48 HB UserHollywood48 HB UserHollywood48 HB UserHollywood48 HB UserHollywood48 HB User
Re: One Week Post-op Brostrom