It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2012, 11:18 PM   #1
(female)

Yogagirrl HB User
MRI on ankle - need help : should I get a second opinion

Hi this is my first time posting. I broke my fibula in October and I am still having pain. Recently in addition to pain I have been having numbness & tingling - trouble standing on my foot. My ortho ordered an MRI & the results said no fractures or marrow edema.
Small high t2w focus in the posterior superior calcaneus probably a variant of a degenerative cyst & close to the Achilles attachment.

Also says ...
There is fluid surrounding the post mallelor portion of the posterior tibial tendon and a mild amount of linear increased intratendinous signal just proximal to the attachment site on navicular. Findings most likely represent a combination of tenosynovitis and a very small intraday stance degeneration or intrasubstance partial tear of the distal tendon itself.

Impression: mild posterior tibial tendon tenosynovitis with mild linear intrasubstance signal in the distal attachment site. See above.

My question and concern is when I followed up with the ortho he said MRI looks good ??? So I pulled it out and asked about all the findings & tear & he said I wouldn't be concerned??? And I said I am because of the pain, tingling & instability I have been experiencing. And he said oh you probably have tendonitus - and the other findings wouldn't cause tingling or numbness..