It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2012, 06:15 PM   #1
(female)

d9r17 HB User
Help with Stiff ankle problems...

Hi! I am new to this board. I had an inversion sprain of my right ankle back in March 2009. The x-ray showed a small piece of bone detachment. After the initial sprain I was given an aircast and PT was prescribed. I did PT from April 2009 until December 2009 with no real progress. Ever since the sprain I have had trouble doing squats. I do not have the dorsi flexion on that foot. When I squat I feel a sharp pain on the top of my ankle. I started physical therapy again in March 2010 until October 2010. Still no real progress. I have recently started going to a massage therapist who has helped break up the scar tissue on the inside of my foot. However I still have pain on the top of my foot. I started playing kickball 2 weeks ago and the pain on the top of my foot has drastically increased. My ankle is so stiff that I usually have to force my a squat through the pain. I have a doctor's appt July 10th and am afraid he will just prescribe more PT. I have done over 15 months of PT with Zero progress.

Have any of you experienced this type of injury or symptoms? I know that everyone is different and progress can be slowed. At this point I am tired of not running through the pain and waking up with a stiff ankle that makes me limp. Any help is much appreciated.

Thank you!

D

Old 07-01-2012, 07:29 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

janewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB User
Re: Help with Stiff ankle problems...

Sharp pain with squatting, eh? That's pretty specific.