It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2012, 11:29 AM   #1
(female)

titanCO HB User
large toe implants

This is my first time posting and having read as many of the previous discussions on great toe implants, it seems that no one has a success story. I had a titanium implant placed in Dec 2011 and it was very painful from the start. At the end of Feb, I was released to full activity. It was still painful but I thought it would improve. I am an active 57 year old hiker who was having some toe pain but began experiencing hip and periformis issues due to changes in gait. I wanted to do the best I could to preserve my activity level and now am reduced to hobbling short distances The Podiatrist I saw stated that he thought he was only going to do a decompression osteotomy as it wasn't that painful but said there was no cartilage there when he went in hence the joint replacement. Now he is suggesting a silicon implant and I'm horrified when I read the posts. I do have an appointment with an Orthopedic Foot and Ankle Doc about 4 hours away from the rural place I live in CO but as asked in other posts; does anyone have anything positive to say about joint replacement? Thanks in advance.

Old 07-09-2012, 06:25 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User
Re: large toe implants

I'm sorry that you've gone thru this. A sports med ortho who is foot and ankle board certified is your best bet. Joint replacements have a high failure rate. There are a couple of alternatives at your point in time - fusion or joint resurfacing. The resurfacing is a rather new procedure but is similar to hip or knee resurfacing, both of which have been done for some time.