HealthBoards

HealthBoards (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Foot & Ankle Problems (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/foot-ankle-problems/)
-   -   Surgery scheduled for 9/18 (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/foot-ankle-problems/916523-surgery-scheduled-9-18-a.html)

SunniDay 08-30-2012 08:48 PM

Surgery scheduled for 9/18

I can't even say how glad I am that I found this board.

I'm feeling a little overwhelmed, but honestly relieved. I'm so,so tired of constant foot pain and problems. On 9/18 I'm having the following procedures. I'll type them exactly as they are on my paperwork, I'm just learning what the technical terms mean. My doctor explained everything quite clearly (little scary), and I've been looking up the terms to match them with the procedures he described. I should have taken someone with me to my appointment to take notes. I'm usually pretty good about understanding, remembering, asking questions. I think that because it's been such a whirlwind year, I wasn't as prepared as I usually am when I visit a doctor. I didn't think about how much information I would have to take in. So here's my list:

Right gastroc recession and dorsiflexion osteotomy midfoot fusion and tarsometatarsal first, second and third, lateral displacing calcaneal, peroneus longus to peroneus brevis and plantar fascia release. Yeah, it's a mouthful :)

Because I broke both knees several years ago, I'm unable to use a knee walker. So during my NWB time I'll be using a wheelchair to get around.

I'm really not even sure what questions to ask yet. I've been reading posts tonight, and learning. For now I'm just ready to say I'm here and hope I'll learn more about what to expect, recovery-wise, before my surgery date.

noevr 08-30-2012 09:26 PM

Re: Surgery scheduled for 9/18

well I"ve had the planter faciitia release and am so glad I had it done. Had it done a while ago w/ no problems. It relieved years of suffering. good luck! Cathy

SunniDay 08-30-2012 09:34 PM