It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Foot & Ankle Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2012, 06:08 PM   #1
(female)

DJP81609 HB User
When did people start driving a car again after having a Right calcaneal osteotomy?

Hello all I am fairly new to this... I had a calcaneal osteotomy, cotton osteotomy, and some tendon work on August 24, 2012. So, I am going on 7 weeks post-op.. It has been a long 7 weeks as I am also a single mom of a 3 yr old.. Call me crazy, but it had to be done, as I was having so much pain in doing simple tasks and going to work.. Anyway, I was wondering if I could ask for input as to when people started driving a car after this kind of surgery. I have a lot going on and need to drive!! Also, have to get back to work.. Please, help!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-11-2012, 08:08 PM   #2
(female)

AdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB UserAdkLizard46 HB User
Re: When did people start driving a car again after having a Right calcaneal osteotom

Hey there,
I had calcaneus reconstruction surgery on my right foot on August 23, so i'm right on par with your time line.

At my appointment on Sept. 25, I asked about driving and I was told it was fine as long as it was an automatic car.

I then was able to handle a 7 hour drive, by myself. I stopped once or twice to put my foot up and let the blood drain, but it didn't hurt much at all.

I would ask your doctor if you can drive again. Mine was really receptive to letting me drive again as soon as I asked.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-12-2012, 02:09 AM   #3
(female)

wants to walk HB Userwants to walk HB Userwants to walk HB Userwants to walk HB Userwants to walk HB Userwants to walk HB Userwants to walk HB Userwants to walk HB User